Will Tom Brady Be The NFL MVP?

Taylor McCloud — Pats Militia

Tom Brady and LeBron James are similar in the sense that they could win MVP of their respective league every year. However, because one person winning the award over and over again would get stale, that just doesn’t happen. LeBron hasn’t won since 2013 and Brady hasn’t brought home the hardware since 2010.

That’s going to change tonight.

Two days ago, a telling photo was released. In the photo, a man (presumably an employee of the NFL) is holding a leather folder. A document, which was definitely supposed to be inside the folder, was pinned to the outside. That document? Tom Brady’s MVP acceptance speech.

All season long, there was a three-man MVP race. Brady, Carson Wentz and Antonio Brown could all make a case for their candidacy. Each player had an incredible season. Unfortunately for Wentz and Brown, the injury bug intervened. Wentz tore his ACL in Week 14 and Brown injured his leg in Week 15. Both players missed the end of the regular season. Their MVP hopes were dashed, leaving one player left: TB12.

But that’s not to say Brady’s the MVP because of other injuries. He deserves this award just as much as anyone, and probably more. He finished second in completions (385), first in attempts (581), fifth in completion percentage (66.3), first in yards (4,577), first in yards per game (286.1), third in touchdowns (32), third in rating (102.8) and third in QBR (67.2). Combine those stats with the fact that he lead the Patriots, a team riddled with injuries, to a 13-3 record, a division title, the #1 seed in the AFC and you’ve got your MVP. Brady was the best player on the best team in the league. That should be enough. Hopefully it’ll prove to be tonight.

Go Pats.

Follow Taylor McCloud on Twitter @tdmcld

Featured image credit to: Brian Blanco/Getty Images